San Antonio home buyers can access city and state programs that reduce cash needed at closing. The City of San Antonio HIP offers $1,000 to $30,000 in zero-interest second-lien assistance on homes inside city limits. TDHCA statewide programs provide 2% to 5% of the loan amount, available in Bexar County and beyond.
Use the cash-to-close calculator to see how assistance changes your numbers before you start looking.
San Antonio Market Right Now
- SA area median sale price: $299,275 in August 2026, unchanged year over year, per the SABOR MLS report. The Bexar County median was $280,999 and down 3.1%.
- Inventory: 5.87 months of supply across the San Antonio area in August 2026, with homes averaging 82 days on market, up 11% year over year.
- Close-to-list ratio: 92.8% of original list price on average, per SABOR.
Mortgage Rates Right Now
- 30-year fixed: 7.28% as of the week of October 1, 2026, per the Freddie Mac Primary Mortgage Market Survey. Up from 7.03% the prior week and 6.34% a year ago.
- 15-year fixed: 6.60% for the same week.
- What this means for payment: At 7.28% on a $299,275 home with 3.5% down FHA, a $288,800 loan, principal and interest alone run roughly $1,976 per month before taxes, insurance, or any assessments.
City HIP Programs at a Glance
- HIP 80: $1,000 to $30,000 as a 0% interest, no-payment second lien. Fully forgiven over 5 or 10 years depending on amount. Income at or below 80% of area median. Purchase price cap: $260,000 existing, $284,000 new construction.
- HIP 120: $1,000 to $15,000 as a 0% interest, no-payment second lien. 75% forgiven over 10 years, 25% remains as a perpetual lien. Income up to 120% of area median. Purchase price cap: $301,700 existing, $332,800 new construction.
- Both require: Home inside San Antonio city limits and a HUD-approved 8-hour homebuyer education class.
TDHCA Statewide Programs
- Down payment assistance: 2% to 5% of the loan amount as a 0% interest second lien, available as a 30-year deferred repayable loan or a 3-year forgivable option. Published August 17, 2026.
- My First Texas Home: First-time buyers with FHA, VA, or USDA loans. Non-targeted income limit for Bexar County area: $104,725 for 1 to 2 persons. Non-targeted purchase price limit: $583,580. Targeted census tracts have separate limits.
- My Choice Texas Home: No first-time buyer requirement. Available with FHA, VA, USDA, and conventional loans. Income limit for Bexar County area: up to $172,720. No TDHCA purchase price cap.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer to get down payment assistance?
Not for all programs. The City of San Antonio HIP page does not list a first-time buyer requirement. TDHCA My Choice Texas Home is open to first-time buyers, repeat buyers, and Veterans. TDHCA My First Texas Home does require first-time buyer status, defined as not having owned and occupied a primary residence in the last three years. A qualified Veteran, honorably discharged as evidenced by DD-214, is exempt from the first-time requirement on My First Texas Home, provided the borrower or spouse has not previously received a mortgage financed through a mortgage revenue bond program under the Veteran exemption. Check each program for current eligibility rules.
What credit score do I need for down payment assistance?
Credit score requirements vary by program. TDHCA My First Texas Home and My Choice Texas Home both list a 620 minimum middle FICO score, per their August 2026 program matrices. The City of San Antonio HIP page does not state a minimum credit score.
Can I use down payment assistance if I am buying outside San Antonio city limits?
It depends on the program. City of San Antonio HIP requires the home to be inside San Antonio city limits, per the sa.gov program page. Some homes with a San Antonio mailing address are actually outside city limits and would not qualify for HIP. TDHCA statewide programs cover all of Texas, including Bexar County properties outside city limits. If you are buying outside the city but inside Bexar County, TDHCA statewide programs are available.
The Bottom Line Up Front
San Antonio home buyers have access to city-level and state-level programs that can reduce the cash needed for a down payment. City HIP 80 provides $1,000 to $30,000 at 0% interest on homes inside city limits, fully forgiven over 5 or 10 years. HIP 120 provides $1,000 to $15,000 at 0% interest, with 75% forgiven over 10 years and 25% as a perpetual lien. TDHCA statewide programs offer 2% to 5% of the loan amount across Bexar County, with both forgivable and repayable options. Which programs fit depends on where you are buying, your income, your credit score, and whether you qualify as a first-time buyer. This guide details City HIP and TDHCA programs with sourced figures, income limits, and purchase price caps.
Down Payment Assistance Programs Available in San Antonio
The table below compares the programs that San Antonio area buyers can access. All figures are from official program pages and documents cited in the ledger.
| Program | Administrator | Max Assistance | Structure | First-Time Buyer Required | Min Credit Score | Area |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HIP 80 | City of San Antonio NHSD | $1,000-$30,000 | 0% second lien, forgiven over 5-10 years | Not stated on sa.gov | Not stated on sa.gov | Inside SA city limits |
| HIP 120 | City of San Antonio NHSD | $1,000-$15,000 | 0% second lien, 75% forgiven over 10 years, 25% perpetual | Not stated on sa.gov | Not stated on sa.gov | Inside SA city limits |
| HOPE | City of San Antonio | $20,000 or $40,000 | Loan, amount by CRAG location | Not stated | Not stated | Inside SA city limits |
| FRHAP | City of San Antonio | $20,000 or $40,000 | Loan, amount by CRAG location | Not stated | Not stated | Inside SA city limits |
| TDHCA My First Texas Home | TX Dept of Housing | 2%-5% of loan | 0% second lien, 30-year deferred or 3-year forgivable | Yes | 620 | Statewide |
| TDHCA My Choice Texas Home | TX Dept of Housing | 2%-5% of loan | 0% second lien, 30-year deferred or 3-year forgivable | No | 620 | Statewide |
HOPE and FRHAP were not accepting new FY 2026 applications as of the last update on sanantonio.gov. The City indicated renewal was subject to City Council approval for the fiscal year beginning October 1, 2026. Check sanantonio.gov for current status before relying on these programs.
City of San Antonio HIP Programs in Detail
The City of San Antonio Neighborhood and Housing Services Department runs two Homeownership Incentive Programs: HIP 80 and HIP 120. Both provide 0% interest, no-payment second liens. The number refers to the income tier: HIP 80 serves households at or below 80% of the area median income, while HIP 120 has its own income limits shown below. All figures below come from the sa.gov HIP page, fetched October 7, 2026.
- HIP 80 assistance: $1,000 to $30,000 as a 0% interest second lien with no monthly payments. Amounts of $1,000 to $15,000 are fully forgiven over 5 years. Amounts of $15,001 to $30,000 are fully forgiven over 10 years.
- HIP 120 assistance: $1,000 to $15,000 as a 0% interest second lien with no monthly payments. 75% is forgiven over 10 years. 25% remains as a perpetual lien that is due when you sell, refinance, or transfer the property. The perpetual portion does not accrue interest.
- Location requirement: The property must be inside San Antonio city limits. A San Antonio mailing address does not guarantee the property is inside city limits. Verify with the City before committing to a program.
- Homebuyer education: Both programs require completion of a HUD-approved 8-hour homebuyer education class before closing.
- Earnest money: A minimum $500 earnest money deposit must appear on the purchase contract.
- Credit score: The sa.gov HIP page does not state a minimum credit score.
HIP 80 Income Limits
Household income must be at or below these amounts, which correspond to 80% of the area median family income. Limits labeled 2026 on sa.gov.
| Household Size | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max Income | $56,350 | $64,400 | $72,450 | $80,500 | $86,950 | $93,400 | $99,850 | $106,300 |
HIP 80 purchase price limit: $260,000 for an existing home, $284,000 for new construction.
HIP 120 Income Limits
Household income must be at or below these amounts, which correspond to 120% of the area median family income. Limits labeled 2025 on sa.gov and may be updated; verify with the City.
| Household Size | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max Income | $84,500 | $96,600 | $108,650 | $120,700 | $130,400 | $140,050 | $149,700 | $159,350 |
HIP 120 purchase price limit: $301,700 for an existing home, $332,800 for new construction.
TDHCA Statewide Programs
The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs runs two homebuyer programs available statewide, including Bexar County and surrounding areas. Both provide 0% interest second liens for down payment and closing cost assistance. All figures below come from the TDHCA program matrices and income limits table, published August 17, 2026, with income limits effective July 13, 2026.
- My First Texas Home: For first-time buyers who have not owned and occupied a primary residence in the last three years. A qualified Veteran, honorably discharged as evidenced by DD-214, is exempt from the first-time requirement, provided the borrower or spouse has not previously received a mortgage financed through a mortgage revenue bond program under the Veteran exemption. Buyers purchasing in a qualified targeted census tract are also exempt. Available with FHA, VA, and USDA loans. DPA ranges from 2% to 5% of the loan amount, funding permitting.
- My Choice Texas Home: No first-time buyer requirement. Open to first-time buyers, repeat buyers, and Veterans. Available with FHA, VA, USDA, and conventional loans through Fannie Mae HFA Preferred and Freddie Mac HFA Advantage. DPA ranges from 2% to 5% of the loan amount, funding permitting.
- Two DPA structures: Both programs offer two options. The 30-year deferred repayable option carries 0% interest with no monthly payments, but the full amount is due when you sell, refinance, transfer, or pay off the first lien. The 3-year deferred forgivable option carries 0% interest and is fully forgiven after 36 months if you remain current on the first lien and the home stays your primary residence.
- Credit score: Both programs require a 620 minimum middle FICO score.
- Homebuyer education: All borrowers must complete a HUD-certified pre-purchase homebuyer education course.
- Property types: Single-family homes, condominiums, planned unit developments, manufactured homes, and duplexes where one unit is owner-occupied.
TDHCA Income Limits for San Antonio Area
The San Antonio-New Braunfels HMFA covers Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, and Wilson counties. My First Texas Home has separate limits for non-targeted and targeted census tracts.
| Program | Area Type | Household Size | Max Income | Purchase Price Cap |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My First Texas Home | Non-targeted | 1-2 persons | $104,725 | $583,580 |
| My First Texas Home | Non-targeted | 3+ persons | $120,434 | $583,580 |
| My First Texas Home | Targeted | 1-2 persons | $125,670 | $713,265 |
| My First Texas Home | Targeted | 3+ persons | $146,616 | $713,265 |
| My Choice Texas Home | All | All | Up to $172,720 | Follows loan agency guidelines |
Non-targeted My First Texas Home income limits use 100% AMFI for 1 to 2 persons and 115% AMFI for 3+ persons. Targeted census tract limits are shown in the table above. My Choice considers borrower income shown on the 1003. Non-purchasing spouse income is not included. Co-signer income is included for My Choice Conventional loans only. TDHCA income limits are updated periodically; verify at welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov before applying.
City Employee Programs: HOPE and FRHAP
The City of San Antonio also operates two homebuyer assistance programs exclusively for its own employees. These are separate from the public HIP programs and are not available to the general public.
- HOPE: Available to eligible full-time City civilian employees. Provides a $20,000 loan for homes outside Community Revitalization Action Group areas or a $40,000 loan for homes inside CRAG areas. Both amounts are within San Antonio city limits.
- FRHAP: Available to eligible uniformed fire and police employees. Same assistance amounts as HOPE: $20,000 outside CRAG, $40,000 inside CRAG.
- Current status: As of the last update on sanantonio.gov, HOPE and FRHAP were not accepting new FY 2026 applications. The City indicated that if renewed by City Council, new funds would be available beginning October 1, 2026. Check sanantonio.gov or contact the City for current status.
Where You Buy Determines Your Options
The program you can use depends on where the property is located. City programs require the home to be inside San Antonio city limits. State programs cover all of Texas. Here is how to think about it based on location.
- Inside San Antonio city limits: You can use City HIP programs and all statewide programs. Check whether the property address is actually inside city limits, not just in the San Antonio mailing zone. The City NHSD can verify.
- In Bexar County but outside city limits: City HIP does not apply. TDHCA statewide programs cover Bexar County.
- Surrounding counties: TDHCA statewide programs cover Bandera, Comal, Guadalupe, Wilson, and other Texas counties. City HIP does not apply.
- New construction vs existing: Both HIP 80 and HIP 120 have separate purchase price limits for existing homes and new construction. TDHCA My First Texas Home has purchase price caps of $583,580 in non-targeted areas and $713,265 in targeted census tracts; these caps do not vary by construction type. My Choice Texas Home has no TDHCA-specific purchase price cap and follows loan agency guidelines.
Eligibility Checklist Before You Apply
Check these program requirements before contacting a lender about DPA.
- Homebuyer education: City HIP requires a HUD-approved 8-hour class, per the sa.gov HIP page. TDHCA requires a HUD-certified pre-purchase homebuyer education course, per the program matrices.
- Income limits: Verify that your household income falls within the program limits. See the income tables above for City HIP and TDHCA programs.
- Purchase price limits: HIP 80 caps at $260,000 for existing homes and $284,000 for new construction. HIP 120 caps at $301,700 existing and $332,800 new. TDHCA My First Texas Home caps at $583,580 in non-targeted San Antonio areas and $713,265 in targeted census tracts.
- Property location: City HIP requires the property to be inside San Antonio city limits, per the sa.gov HIP page. TDHCA programs are available statewide. A San Antonio mailing address does not guarantee the property is inside city limits.
- Credit score: TDHCA programs require a 620 minimum middle FICO score, per the program matrices. City HIP does not state a minimum credit score on sa.gov.
What You Still Pay Out of Pocket
DPA covers part of your upfront costs. Your total cash needed at closing depends on the program, the loan type, and the purchase price.
Hypothetical Cash-to-Close Scenario
This example is illustrative only. Inputs are stated so you can adjust for your situation.
| Input | Value |
|---|---|
| Purchase price | $299,275 per the August 2026 SA area median from SABOR |
| Down payment | 3.5% FHA: $10,475 |
| Loan amount | $288,800 |
| Rate | 7.28% 30-year fixed, PMMS week of October 1, 2026 |
| Principal and interest | ~$1,976 per month |
| Property taxes | Varies by taxing district. Enter your address in the escrow shock test. |
| Homeowners insurance | Get a quote for the specific property. Compare with the insurance quote tool. |
| HOA, MUD, PID | Check the listing and the MUD and PID cost tool. |
- TDHCA DPA applied to this scenario: If this buyer uses TDHCA My First Texas Home with 5% DPA on a $288,800 loan, the DPA amount would be $14,440. That exceeds the $10,475 FHA down payment.
- HIP 120 applied to this scenario: HIP 120 provides up to $15,000 per the sa.gov HIP page. On this $299,275 home, that covers the $10,475 FHA down payment. Note that $299,275 is under the HIP 120 existing home purchase price limit of $301,700.
Use the full mortgage payment calculator to model your total monthly cost, and the cash-to-close calculator to estimate what you need to bring to closing.
Homebuyer Education Requirements
City HIP and TDHCA programs both require homebuyer education. Completing the course before you start shopping prevents delays at closing.
- City HIP requirement: A HUD-approved 8-hour homebuyer education class, per the sa.gov HIP page.
- TDHCA requirement: A HUD-certified pre-purchase homebuyer education course, per the TDHCA program matrices.
- When to complete it: Complete the course and obtain your certificate before you make an offer. Having it early avoids delays.
- Where to find a class: The HUD housing counselor directory at hud.gov lists approved counseling agencies by ZIP code.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which San Antonio DPA programs are accepting applications right now?
TDHCA My First Texas Home and My Choice Texas Home are statewide programs with program matrices published August 17, 2026. HOPE and FRHAP for City employees were not accepting new FY 2026 applications as of the last update on sanantonio.gov, with renewal subject to City Council approval for the fiscal year beginning October 1, 2026. Program availability and funding can change. Check each program’s official site for current status before applying.
What counts as a first-time home buyer?
TDHCA defines a first-time homebuyer as someone who has not owned and occupied a primary residence during the last three years, per the My First Texas Home Program Matrix published August 17, 2026. A qualified Veteran, honorably discharged as evidenced by DD-214, is exempt from this requirement, provided the borrower or spouse has not previously received a mortgage financed through a mortgage revenue bond program under the Veteran exemption. Buyers purchasing in a qualified targeted census tract are also exempt. The City of San Antonio HIP page does not state a first-time buyer requirement for its programs.
Can Veterans combine VA loans with down payment assistance?
Yes. TDHCA My First Texas Home and My Choice Texas Home both accept VA loans, per the program matrices. A qualified Veteran, honorably discharged as evidenced by DD-214, is exempt from the first-time buyer requirement on My First Texas Home, provided the borrower or spouse has not previously received a mortgage financed through a mortgage revenue bond program under the Veteran exemption. Confirm with your lender that the specific DPA program you want to use is compatible with your VA loan terms.
Do I have to repay the assistance if I sell or refinance?
It depends on the program and the timing. HIP 80 assistance is fully forgiven over 5 or 10 years depending on amount, per the sa.gov HIP page. HIP 120 forgives 75% over 10 years, with 25% remaining as a perpetual lien due at sale, refinance, or transfer. TDHCA 3-year forgivable DPA is fully forgiven after 36 months if you stay current on the first lien and the home remains your primary residence, per the program matrices. TDHCA 30-year deferred DPA is due in full when you sell, refinance, transfer, or pay off the first lien. City HIP and TDHCA second liens all carry 0% interest, per their respective program documents.
Can I stack multiple DPA programs?
Whether you can combine DPA from different programs depends on the specific programs and the lender involved. Contact your lender to ask whether the combination you want is permitted before you count on stacked assistance.
Can I use DPA on new construction, a condo, or a manufactured home?
TDHCA programs allow single-family homes, condominiums, planned unit developments, manufactured homes, and duplexes, per the program matrices published August 17, 2026. City HIP has separate purchase price limits for existing homes and new construction. Check with the City and your lender for specific property type restrictions on HIP.
What income limit applies to my household?
It depends on the program. For City HIP 80, income limits range from $56,350 for a 1-person household to $106,300 for 8 persons. For HIP 120, limits range from $84,500 for 1 person to $159,350 for 8 persons, per the sa.gov HIP page. For TDHCA My First Texas Home in non-targeted San Antonio areas, the limit is $104,725 for 1 to 2 persons and $120,434 for 3+ persons. In targeted census tracts, the limit is $125,670 for 1 to 2 persons and $146,616 for 3+ persons, per the TDHCA limits table effective July 13, 2026. For TDHCA My Choice, the income cap is $172,720 for the San Antonio area. Each program defines “income” differently, so ask your lender exactly which income counts.
What documents do I need to apply?
City HIP requires a minimum $500 earnest money deposit on the purchase contract, per the sa.gov HIP page. TDHCA programs require completion of a HUD-certified pre-purchase homebuyer education course, per the program matrices.
What if program funds run out before I close?
TDHCA DPA is available “funding permitting,” per the program matrices.
Data and Methodology
Market statistics in this guide come from the SABOR MLS August 2026 press release covering the San Antonio area and Bexar County. Mortgage rates are from the Freddie Mac Primary Mortgage Market Survey for the week of October 1, 2026. City of San Antonio HIP program details are from the sa.gov HIP page fetched October 7, 2026. City employee program details are from the sanantonio.gov employee benefits page fetched the same date. TDHCA program details are from the official program matrices published August 17, 2026, and the income limits table effective July 13, 2026, all from welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov. Computations such as the monthly payment example show the formula and inputs. No figures from commercial real estate portals, GPT-generated reviews, or unsourced industry estimates are used in this guide.



